Published Tuesday, February 9, 2021

Rajesh R. Tampi, MD, has been selected to receive the 2021 Jack Weinberg Award for Geriatric Psychiatry from the American Psychiatric Association (APA) and APA Foundation.

Published Tuesday, June 9, 2020

The American Association for Geriatric Psychiatry (AAGP) is a diverse, national organization of more than 1300 health professionals, scientists, and advocates committed to reducing mental suffering and promoting emotional and cognitive health in all older adults regardless of race, gender, ethnicity, sexual orientation, or faith community…To read the entire statement, click here.

Published Monday, May 20, 2019

Dr. Professor Manfred Bergener, Inspirationalist, visionary and first President of the International Psychogeriatric Association (1982-1987), died in March 2019, in Koln, Germany.

Published Monday, July 17, 2017

Dr. Hugh C. Hendrie was awarded the 2017 Lifetime Achievement Award in London on July 16, 2017 at the 2017 Alzheimer's Association International Conference. Click here to view press release from the Alzhemier's Association. 

Published Tuesday, February 7, 2017

On February 6, AAGP released an official statement on President Trump’s executive order. “…[this] executive order puts further strain on the physician workforce in areas of dire need,” said AAGP President Daniel D. Sewell, MD. To read the entire statement, click here

Published Friday, February 3, 2017

AAGP was recently informed of the WHO's ICD-11 proposal to transfer all dementia diagnoses from the Mental or Behavioral Health Disorder section to the Nervous System section. Click here to view AAGP's direct response.

Published Monday, July 14, 2014
Over the past two years I have represented the AAGP at the annual and interim meetings of the American Medical Association. This is the first time that our organization has had a formal association with the AMA. In the past, AAGP member James Greene, MD, had attended the AMA and had supported a formal relationship. Given the ever-changing practice of more»
Published Thursday, June 19, 2014
The American Psychiatric Association's Hartford-Jeste Award for Future Leaders in Geriatric Psychiatry recognizes an early career geriatric psychiatrist who has made noteworthy contributions to the field of geriatric psychiatry through excellence in research, teaching, clinical practice, and community service, and has demonstrated the potential to develop more»
Items 1-8 of 38